Being a Governor

Being a governor is a large responsibility but also very rewarding when you see the achievements of the school and it’s pupils.  There are many opportunities for personal development and interaction with the school.

There are 2 or 3 meetings per term, which are approx 2 hours each (although we try to make them less).  There would be 1 or 2 full governing body meetings that everyone attends and usually 1 committee meeting per term.  There are 2 committees, Finance (covers budget, buildings, staff issues etc) and a curriculum committee (covers progress, attainment, curriculum etc).  You would be asked to join one of the committees.

In addition to this you would be asked to meet with your linked teacher once per term to discuss their subject area and bring findings back to the full governing body meeting – these should last about 30 mins.  There is a standard format of paperwork/questions for you to discuss and fill in with your linked teacher.  We then ask you to put these into the file once they're completed so that we have records of the meetings for Ofsted and give brief feedback in the next FGB meeting.

In total it should be about 8 hours per term by the time you add in reading any policies we're reviewing at the next meeting, minutes of the previous meeting etc. 

As a one off when you start you have to go on the new governor training which is either 3 x evenings or 2 x half days.  There are usually courses in Gosport and/or Cosham.

There are also additional roles within the governing body but you are not obliged to take on one of these, it depends on how much time you are prepared to give.

If you are interested we invite you to sit in on a full governing body meeting to see whether you like it.  If you are still keen to join us we will get you booked on the training and at the next FGB meeting we will vote you into office.  You should note that you are required to be DBS checked and that some of what you hear in the meetings is confidential and/or privileged information and should not be discussed with anyone other than governors.

If you are interested please contact the chair of governors via the school office.

  Category of Governor Appointed by Term of Office Committees Served on Positions of Responsibility Business & Financial Interests Any other Govenor Responsibilities
Nicola Brown Co-opted FGB 12.05.2015 - 11.05.2019 Resources Committee Development & Training Governor    
Judith Capel Co-opted FGB 12.05.2015 - 11.05.2019 Head Teacher's Performance Committee
School Improvement
Children in Care and Pupil Premium Governor    
Andrew Chartres Co-opted FGB 12.05.2015 - 11.05.2019 Pay Committee
Resources Committee
Pay Committee Chair
Attendance Governor
Rachael Hughes Parent Parents 30.04.2017 -
Resources Committee Chair of Governors
Child Protection Governor
Anne Garley Co-opted FGB 12.05.2015 -
Head Teacher's Performance Committee
Resources Committee
Vice Chair of Governors
Resources Committee Chair
Head Teacher's Performance Committee Chair
Safer Recruitment Governor (From Jan 2018)
Christine Hatton Local Authority Roger Price, Councilor 04.03.2017 - 
Pay Committee
School Improvement
School Improvement Chair
SEN(D) Governor
Children in Care and Pupil Premium Governor
Nadia Loizides Staff   09.12.2015 -
School Improvement Health and Safety Governor    
Andrew (Mark) Walton Parent Parents 19.09.2015 - 
Pay Committee 
Resources Committee
Adam Ord Co-opted FGB 12.05.2015 - 
School Improvement      
Sam Way Head Teacher   12.05.15 Resources Committee
School Improvement
Annamarie Park Clerk   28.09.2017        

Areas of Responsibility

Area Governor Teacher
The Arts Carolyn Bullock Nadia Loizides
Holly Garlick
DT Mark Walton Vikki Haden-Brown 
EYFS Chris Hatton Nadia Loizides 
Geography Nicola Brown Sarah Bartlett
History Nicola Brown Sarah Bartlett
ICT Judith Capel Vikki Haden-Brown
Literacy Adam Ord Gemma Loveless
Modern Foreign
Nicola Brown Sarah Bartlett
Numeracy Anne Garley Kayleigh Barnes
Holly Garlick
PDL Anne Garley Zena Johns
PE Rachael Hughes George Milburn
RE Adam Ord Kayleigh Barnes
Safeguarding Rachael Hughes Sam Way
Sarah Bartlett
Nadia Loizides
Gavin Bater
Science Andy Chartres Nadia Loizides
Emily Lander
SEN(D), G&T Chris Hatton Gavin Bater
Emily Lander
SMSC Julie Durance Kayleigh Barnes
Zena Johns
Gemma Loveless
Sam Way
Rachael Baxter